This is the "Databases" page of the "Writing Assistance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writing Assistance  

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.eosc.edu/writing Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Access These Databases from Off Campus

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REMOTE LOG-IN

Please contact the Library Staff at library@eosc.edu for information on accessing our databases off-campus.

 

Scholarly Journals? Popular Magazines? What's the Difference?

To tell the difference between a scholarly journal and a popular magazine follow this helpful link. There you will find a great explanation of the differences between magazines and scholarly journals! Also see the link to Ulrich's which give you all the background about specific publications. The term "periodical" is a catch term used to refer to any publication with a distinctive title that is issued at regular intervals, like magazines and journals, rather than books which are complete in one part or set, and usually about a narrowly defined single topic.

Evaluating Information: Popular vs. Scholarly Journals

 

Databases

Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Opposing Viewponts

Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

CINAHL Full Text

CINAHL® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL.

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kim Pendergraft
Contact Info
Assistant Librarian/Archivist
Eastern Oklahoma State College
Bill H. Hill Library
1301 West Main Street
Wilburton, Oklahoma 74578
918.465.1783
918.465.0112 Fax
kdpendergraft@eosc.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip