PoliciesResources
WilburtonMcAlesterIdabelAntlers
WilburtonMcAlesterIdabelAntlers
BooksDatabasesPeriodical List
This is the "Policies" page of the "Library 101" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library 101  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.eosc.edu/lib101 Print Guide RSS Updates

Policies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Library Policies

Eastern has a Library Media Center that contains a collection of print and electronic information sources. There are seating accommodations for students, as well as a study area for group study. With the exception of Reserve Books, there is open access to approximately 50,000 books, as well as 77 periodicals, 8 newspapers, and 21 on-line computers.

Hours and Services:

Library hours are posted in the Library Building entrance. The Library is not open evenings between semesters or during holidays/breaks when students are not having classes. The Library is closed on holidays listed on the calendar the same as campus offices.

Borrowing Materials:

All students and staff members are entitled to use the Library. All materials leaving the Library Media Center must be checked out at the circulation desk. Students should be prepared to present a Student ID/Driver's License when they check out books. Most books are checked out for two-week periods. Loans may be renewed, if the materials are not needed by others. Borrowers are allowed to check out as many as five (5) books at one time. Borrowers ·are responsible for books as long as they are checked out to them. Students taking Library books/materials without checking them out properly are in violation of the College's Student Code of Conduct. DVD and Video tapes are checked out for one (1) day and due back by 9 a.m. the following day.  On Fridays DVDs will be due back by 9 a.m. the following Monday.

Penalties:

Books and materials that are not returned when due are subject to a fine of five cents per day per item. DVDs and video tapes are charged at $1 per day with a $3 per day maximum for each day they are overdue. All library records must be cleared before transcripts will be given by the College. Materials lost, destroyed, or damaged must be paid for. A $15 service charge will be added to the replacement cost of each book or item. The charge helps cover the processing cost for replacing lost or damaged articles.

Non-Circulating Materials: (includes Reserve books, Reference Textbooks, and Periodicals)

The Reserve Textbooks Section is behind the information desk on the second floor. ReserveTextbooks are for use in the Library only. Students must ASK for Reserve textbooks and sign them out for room use.

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, almanacs, bound magazines, etc. They are to be used in the reference section only. Some of the older sets of encyclopedias are not in reference and may be checked out.

Current magazines, journals, and newspapers are on the magazine shelves and newspaper racks located on the second floor. They are to be used in the Library Media Center only.

EOSC-NET Library Services and Information:

Electronic information in a continuously growing variety of titles and microcomputer applications are available on personal computers in the computer reference center on the second floor. Students may use these computers to search magazine indexes, the Internet, full text journals, newspapers and government documents, as well as use word processing and data management programs to assist them in preparing assignments. EOSC-NET can be accessed from the classroom, the dormitory computer labs, and lab computers in other campus buildings. The Library Media Center has wireless Internet access.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kim Pendergraft
Contact Info
Assistant Librarian/Archivist
Eastern Oklahoma State College
Bill H. Hill Library
1301 West Main Street
Wilburton, Oklahoma 74578
918.465.1783
918.465.0112 Fax
kdpendergraft@eosc.edu
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Maria Martinez
Contact Info
Director of Library Media Services
Bill H. Hill Library
Eastern Oklahoma State College
1301 W. Main Street
Wilburton, OK 74578
918.465.1711
918.465.0112 Fax
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Maria Gabriela Arroyo
Contact Info
Administrative Assistant to the Librarian
Eastern Oklahoma State College
Bill H. Hill Library
1301 W. Main Street
Wilburton, OK 74578
918.465.1781
918.465.0112 Fax
marroyo@eosc.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip